Kathryn’s Final Cut

The basis behind my blogging is my love for movies. I’m a big fan of them and have been since I was a kid. I guess it all started with my parents and their “date night” religiously every Friday night (which incidentally, is still in tradition). Turns out it was cheaper to rent a video than pay a babysitter…simpler times. So as a result I have quite a tally by now of ALL types of movies and I have some form of appreciation for everything (…..almost!).

In our attempts to try new aspects of Dublin there has been admittedly a high level of alcohol intake which has inevitably inspired me for my first blog (and somewhat hindered it)…..Greatest Hangover Movies…..most notably yesterdays choice (thanks Niamh Beatty) Empire Records. I recently repurchased this on DVD as I no longer have a VHS player rendering my original copy useless! This popular cult classic is a must for everyone…..it has a bit of everything which actually makes it hard to put it into a genre but easy to love. The first time I saw this movie, I think I was about 14 and apart from introducing me to the very hot Johnny Whitworth (girls we all remember the topless dancing scene….swoon!) it also introduced me to a lot of music that I would otherwise never have bothered with. The soundtrack is probably one of the most random mix of completely varied music, the Cranberries, Gin Blossoms, Dire Straits, The Buggles (the genius behind “Video killed the radio star”……yes yes had to google that one). But added to this are the cast themselves….again a random selection….quirky, fun, outrageous….but it just works. It’s hard to pick your favourite. And it’s funny to see the faces now knowing where they are now in their careers….how funny is it that SEXY REXY is now in Emmerdale like??

Like I said though, something for everyone, so if you haven’t already seen it, get on it! And watch out for the special Fan Edition with an additional 16 minutes of never before seen extra footage (I have it). And don’t forget to follow it up with the also AMAZING Soundtrack.

Some fun stuff:

  • A.J. tells Lucas he has to tell Corey that he loves her by 1:37 today. At the end of the movie, when Corey tells A.J. that she loves him, the movie is playing for 1 hour and 37 minutes.
  • Renee Zellweger is actually singing at the end, her performance here helped her land the role in Chicago later on.
  • At the time this movie was made, Coyote Shivers was married to Bebe Buell, which made him the step-father of co-star Liv Tyler.
  • Renee lived with Rory Cochrane (Lucas) for four years.
  • Warren was supposed to have a sister, but her scenes and ultimately her character was deleted from the final cut of the film, hence the mystery behind the stolen Whitney Houston album
  • The movie was originally filmed as two days but was cut and fit to one.
  • A sign by the register that says “Have a nice daze” shows the logo for Dazed and Confused (another classic).  Rory Cochrane, who plays Lucas, played Slater in Dazed and Confused.
  • Tobey Maguire was originally a cast member called Andre but his scenes were deleted
3 responses to “Kathryn’s Final Cut

  1. Picked a good one to kick things off. Well done – welcome to the blogging world!

Leave a Reply

