The Return Of The Oval Ball

magners

This weekend sees the return of the rugby season for the Irish provinces with the kick off of the Magners League, and I can’t bloody wait.

The first fixture of the weekend sees Connacht entertain the Ospreys – I can only see this match going one way to be honest.

An hour later, the Magners League champions (that’d be Munster, doncha know) will be kicking off against Glasgow Warriors. I can only see this match going one way also, but in favour of the Irish team who have named a strong enough squad, going for a mix of youth and experience. You can watch the mighty Munster return on Setanta Ireland, kick off is 8pm.

Saturday sees the return of the….. of the…… damn it, I can’t bring myself to say anything nice, so lets just say Saturday sees the return of Leinster. Heineken Cup winners, champions of Europe, blah, blah, blah. Anyway, they are playing the Scarlets in the Parc y Scarlets. Leinster have also named a mixed squad of youth and experience. This match is on Setanta Ireland too, kick off is at 6.30pm.

And on Sunday, to wrap it all up Ulster return to the fold, also travelling to Wales to play the Dragons.

Hell to the yeah!

2 responses to “The Return Of The Oval Ball

  1. So you’ll be pleased about the result then on Friday at Glasgow. You have an advantage over me in that you can watch it on TV and record it and watch it over and over again. I was lucky enough to be at the game so I’ll just have my memories of a stadium erupting with raw emotion as the final whistle was blown proclaiming Glasgow as victors over the league champions. You were right – the match COULD only go one way – our way

    JohnF

    • Im really gonna have to eat my words here, arent I John? I didnt get to see the match, but by all accounts Munster were terrible. Still, fair play to Glasgow, because a poor Munster team can sometimes still get the win. My season of predictions is off to a very bad start, and the Irish teams in general did poorly, not a single win. Ah well, its a long season!

Leave a Reply

