Julian Plenti is… Skyscraper

Julain Plenti

Julian who??

Julian Plenti is the new solo venture of Interpol frontman Paul Banks. I first heard about the record via Phantom FM, they played the debut single ‘Games For Days‘, and I recognized Banks’ voice and went and looked it up. At first I thought it was maybe a new Interpol single (they’re long overdue on their follow up to 2007’s ‘Our Love To Admire‘). But after a quick look online I got all the info I needed on Paul Banks’ new solo project.
My curiosity got the better of me and I’ve since downloaded the album, and can happily report that it worth a listen. The album is by no means perfect, but it’s grown on me. It’s by no means a huge departure from Interpol’s sound, and I’m not sure is that a good or a bad thing. Nevertheless Banks’ haunting vocals worked their magic on me, stand out tracks for me include ‘No Chance For Survival’ and album opener ‘Only If You Run’, in contrast ‘Girl On The Sporting News’ is my least favourite on the album.

Since news of the album there it’s been announced that Julian Plenti will play The Academy on 1st December and the tickets are €33.10 – get them here.

I’ve seen Interpol live before and really enjoyed it, so I would be interested to see what Banks’ solo show is like – only thing is not too sure can I afford it!

Leave a Reply

